do sneak cigarettes late at night

they pulled my hair at charm school.

they stole my guestbook during rolecall.

proper etiquette has been waxed off but not waxed on, so sue me, + MAY 10 . 2003 = 152

+

s a t ur d a y. the back porch at the 70�s house proves to be the perfect place to hide out with my new notebook and short stories by Andrea Lee (whose book Interesting Women I bought solely because The Boston Globe compared her to Susan Minot. The first, I believe, to be compared to S.M. ). The back porch is a veritable wasteland of warped decking & abandoned chairs. One, overturned & suffering from rain damage, screams Late 60�s with its print of enormous brown & yellow blooms. Another, is a once white lawn chair that has since turned a sick green-blue bottom-of-an-empty-swimming-pool color. A bright blue camp chair holds a seat full of water, nails poke their heads out of boards, citronella wax is frozen in a slow motion crawl. The view: a bowl of a lawn, an empty shed (room for a few goats or one shetland pony or a boy named Pervis, who, true story!, actually lived there for two weeks after vacating NYC due to stomach ailments).

I hide out for almost an hour before I am discovered by Noam & Sarah & their two

dogs. Sarah, with a tiny pretty scar under her left eye, and Noam, with his CurlyCurly hair, will entertain me & make me laugh , but also, make me tired. Later, there will be a house full of people & skewers of grilled vegetables & strawberry shortcake. A raucous good time, surely. But, me, feeling ornery & restless & private will have succumbed to a nap (Ben�s room being another perfect place to hide out) , which will last far too long , yield curious InstructionalFighting (think:KarateKid but with an Edge) dreams & a real-yet-mirage-like-boyfriend who slips into bed at 1am and asks: what happ e ne d?

0 comments so far

prev/next class notes, file of pom-pom

ghosts!